PING Player of the Year

Past Division I PING WGCA Players of the Year

Past Division II PING WGCA Players of the Year

Past Division III PING WGCA Players of the Year

Past NAIA PING WGCA Players of the Year

Recognized annually as the top honor in women's collegiate golf, the PING WGCA Player of the Year Award is awarded to the best player in Division I, II, III and NAIA women's golf.  The award was first given in 1987 and the names of recipients reads as a who's who of the best of the ladies game.  The time-tested criteria and efforts by the coaches committee to evaluate, analyze and determine the appropriate winner makes the recipient of this the true "national player of the year."

WGCA Player of the Year Criteria

  1. The WGCA Division I, II & III Awards Committees evaluate the Top 60 players (30 players for Division II and III) from the Golfstat and Golfweek/Sagarin Rankings.
  2. Each player under consideration for this honor must have competed a minimum of 15 rounds (12 for Division II and III) during the competitive year, including NCAA Regional Championships (n/a for Division III.) ***For the 2019-20 season, the minimum number of rounds competed for a student-athlete to be considered for Player of the Year has been reduced to (8) for Division I, (6) for Division II, and (5) for Division III. These minimums match with the number of rounds needed to be ranked on Golfstat through the number of completed weeks this season.***  
  3. Each Awards Committee member will review the tournament profiles of all candidates and will make comparisons between the players. Criteria used to evaluate each player are as follows a) Head to Head Competition, (b) Comparison with common opponents, (c) Scoring average (adjusted), (d) Place finishes in regular season events and tournament wins, (e) Strength of schedule.
  4. The criteria will be prioritized in the above order if a decision becomes difficult to determine.
  5. The committees vote to determine the winners.
  6. The PING WGCA Division I Player of the Year criteria will selected based on data at the conclusion of medal play at the NCAA Championship.