• Heather Bowie, Jenny Lidback, and Marilynn Smith to be Inducted into the WGCA Players Hall of Fame

    Heather Bowie of Arizona State University and the University of Texas, Jenny Lidback of Texas Christian University and Louisiana State University, and Marilynn Smith of the University of Kansas will be inducted into the WGCA Players Hall of Fame on Sunday evening, December 2, 2018. The Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place at Planet Hollywood Resort in Las Vegas, Nev. Bowie, Lidback and Smith become the 73rd, 74th and 75th members of the WGCA Players Hall of Fame.

    In two years at Arizona State University, Bowie helped lead the Sun Devils to two NCAA team championships in 1994 and 1995. She was a two-time First Team All-American and currently holds the record for second-most wins by a player in a single season at Arizona State (four).  Bowie then transferred to the University of Texas, where she capped off her career by winning three tournament titles in 1997, including both the Big 12 Championship and the NCAA Championship. She was named a First Team All-American, Big 12 Player of the Year, and the winner of the Honda Broderick Award as the College Female Golfer of the Year.

    After spending two and a half years at Texas Christian University, where Lidback earned First-Team All-American honors and was a member of the 1983 NCAA National Championship team, she transferred to Louisiana State University and had one of the greatest single seasons in women's college golf. In that one year, she won a record seven individual titles and led the Tigers to a program best five team championships. Following her senior season, she was named NCAA Player of the Year. Lidback has gone on to have a successful professional career, including winning the du Maurier Classic in 1995, which from 1979 through 2000 was one of the LPGA Tour's four major championships before being replace by the Women's British Open.

    Smith’s two-year career at the University of Kansas was highlighted by a 1949 NCAA Championship Individual title, and shortly after she accepted an offer from Spalding to turn pro. She was one of the original 13 founders of the Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) in 1950 and won 22 times on the LPGA tour, including the 1963 Titleholders, one of the major women's events at the time. Smith was the first ever female television commentator for a men's professional golf tournament in 1973, and in 1979 she received the inaugural Patty Berg Award for distinguished service to women's golf. She was inducted into the Women's Sports Foundation International Hall of Fame in 1991 and the World Golf Hall of Fame in 2006 via the Lifetime Achievement category.

    About the Women’s Golf Coaches Association
    The Women’s Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women’s collegiate golf coaches. The WGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the WGCA represents over 600 coaches throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.